Congress Holds Bannon in Contempt

The House on Thursday voted to hold Steve Bannon in contempt of Congress after he defied a subpoena from the Jan. 6 committee, a remarkable censure of the former Trump White House strategist that leaves the Department of Justice to weigh whether to pursue criminal charges.

The vote fell almost entirely along party lines, 229-202. Nine Republicans voted with every Democrat in favor of the resolution: Reps. Liz Cheney (Wyo.), Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.), Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), John Katko (N.Y.), Adam Kinzinger (Ill.), Nancy Mace (S.C.), Peter Meijer (Mich.) and Fred Upton (Mich.). All but two of those Republicans voted to impeach former President Trump after the Jan. 6 insurrection.

The vote comes after Bannon refused to appear for a slated deposition with the House committee investigating the Jan. 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol.

Lawmakers on the panel argue the swift referral to the Justice Department is a necessary rebuke, as well as a warning to others subpoenaed by the committee that anyone refusing to cooperate will be met with a similar fate.

Keep reading at The Hill.